Mum’s Like Us Book Review & Competition

I was recently sent a copy of Mum’s Like Us by Laura Kemp which is a fabulously funny book about normal mum’s taking on those ‘mother superior’ times (yes we all know at least one) that we see on the school run.

Mum’s Like Us tells the story of Stella Smith who sets up a club called ‘Mums Like Us’.  She is a normal mum with a normal family and normal friends who are also normal mums.  They are sick of the Mother Superiors that they bump into at the school gates who think that they have to do the best by their families so she set up the club so all the mums can get together and have a good old whinge about their kids, their partners and being a mum!  They also recognise the fact that it can be tough being a mum, being at the families beck and call and feeling that you have lost your own identify and are just Mum!

Any of the above ringing any bells yet with anyone?  Getting a small sense of de ja vu yet? If you’re still not sure take a look at this video for a preview of what Mum’s Like Us is about:-

Mums Like Us This book is rip roaringly funny and a startlingly accurate account as life as a mum.  It had me in stitches as elements of it seemed as if Laura had been a fly on my wall some days and regurgitated bits of my life into Stella and the story. Whilst reading it in Costa Coffee last week I actually chortled and snorted into my flat white (most un ladylike) and I would highly recommend other mum’s to read this book.

Laura’s writing is absolute genius and I could quite easily imagine myself sitting and drinking tea and scoffing cake at one of the meetings.  Which like any sort of event I try to host at home or involve other adults in means the kids are also involved and often running round like whirling dervishes in the next room and creating chaos.

I quite like the idea of a knackered mother’s support club – I think if I was to start one there would be a fair few signups as us mum’s quite frankly have days where we are lucky if we don’t meet ourselves coming backwards!

There is a serious message in the book, which is that you don’t actually have to be perfect to be a good mum.  A message I think more of us should be aware of and be quite ok with the days when we royally mess it up being a mum.  We’re so pushed into what makes the ‘ideal mum’ that it’s really easy to lose the identity of yourself and I know I am guilty of trying really hard to fit in and be accepted and then having the stark realisation that if people didn’t like me for me then quite frankly just sod them.   The book shows that perhaps the grass isn’t always greener on the other side and that people aren’t always how they look or feel like you think they feel.

If you pick up this book you will laugh from cover to cover.  Tears will run down your cheeks as you empathise and live your days through Stella.  You will shout at multiple intervals through the book. ‘this is me, this is my life!’  Overall this is a fabulously funny read that I think every mother should have.

About the Author

Laura Kemp started writing to get out of doing a real job.  A journalist for 15 years, she turned freelance after having a baby because she couldn’t get out of the house, washed and dressed until lunchtime at the earliest.  A columnist and contributor, she regularly writes for national newspapers and magazines, and spends quite a lot of her time on Twitter.    This is Laura’s first novel, which she hopes will strike a chord with exhausted mums who don’t iron either.  Laura is married with a son and a neurotic cat.

Find out more about Laura at her website http://www.laura-kemp.com

Follow Laura on Twitter & Facebook

Join the knackered mother’s club on the official Mum’s Like Us Facebook page too.

Win One of 5 Copies of Mum’s Like Us!!

You can buy Mum’s Like Us online through Amazon and I also have 5 copies to give away in my latest competition that closes on Friday March 15th 2013.

To enter just tell me how long the author Laura Kemp had been a journalist for

(*hint the answer is in this article)

If you enjoyed this post, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles delivered to your feed reader.

69 Comments on Mum’s Like Us Book Review & Competition

  1. Barenakedmummy
    March 6, 2013 at 2:21 pm (1 year ago)

    15 years!

    I read another review on this book the other day and it looks like my kind of book!
    BNM
    Barenakedmummy recently posted..MemoriesMy Profile

  2. Tracy Nixon
    March 6, 2013 at 2:59 pm (1 year ago)

    15 years!

  3. Sam
    March 6, 2013 at 6:33 pm (1 year ago)

    15 years. I need a good read & this looks just the thing.

  4. SARAH LAMBERT
    March 7, 2013 at 11:49 am (1 year ago)

    15 Years.
    This looks a fab book :)
    Xx

  5. C De Asha
    March 8, 2013 at 7:07 am (1 year ago)

    15 years :)

  6. Heidi
    March 8, 2013 at 7:47 am (1 year ago)

    15 years. Looks like a brilliant book

  7. Sophie Buckle
    March 8, 2013 at 8:07 am (1 year ago)

    ANSWER: 15 Years

  8. ashley horton
    March 8, 2013 at 8:44 am (1 year ago)

    Answer, 15 years

  9. dbernie
    March 8, 2013 at 8:47 am (1 year ago)

    15years

  10. laura banks
    March 8, 2013 at 8:49 am (1 year ago)

    15 years

  11. Becky John
    March 8, 2013 at 8:50 am (1 year ago)

    15 years

  12. Sarah Smith
    March 8, 2013 at 9:01 am (1 year ago)

    15 years

  13. Shelley Hawkins
    March 8, 2013 at 9:15 am (1 year ago)

    15 years

  14. Alison M
    March 8, 2013 at 9:23 am (1 year ago)

    15 years

    Can totally relate as a mum to an active 3 yr old!

  15. Jo Jones
    March 8, 2013 at 9:41 am (1 year ago)

    15 years

  16. Joanne thomas
    March 8, 2013 at 9:45 am (1 year ago)

    15 years

  17. Gary Topley
    March 8, 2013 at 9:46 am (1 year ago)

    Answer: 15 Years x

  18. sophie spiby
    March 8, 2013 at 10:14 am (1 year ago)

    Answer: 15 years

  19. suan watts
    March 8, 2013 at 11:05 am (1 year ago)

    answer 15 years

  20. pauline hill
    March 8, 2013 at 11:28 am (1 year ago)

    15 years

  21. diane findlay
    March 8, 2013 at 12:12 pm (1 year ago)

    Answer: 15 Years…

  22. sarah clarke feltham
    March 8, 2013 at 1:00 pm (1 year ago)

    15 years

  23. Val Hartley
    March 8, 2013 at 1:10 pm (1 year ago)

    Answer: 15 Years

  24. Julie Picton
    March 8, 2013 at 1:29 pm (1 year ago)

    15 Years

  25. jacqueline morris
    March 8, 2013 at 1:56 pm (1 year ago)

    15 years

  26. Julie Davies
    March 8, 2013 at 3:05 pm (1 year ago)

    15 years

  27. jennifer thorpe
    March 8, 2013 at 4:02 pm (1 year ago)

    15 years

  28. anthony harrington
    March 8, 2013 at 4:18 pm (1 year ago)

    15 years

  29. Sarah-Jane Laycock
    March 8, 2013 at 6:28 pm (1 year ago)

    15 years

  30. Jo Wakefield
    March 8, 2013 at 9:13 pm (1 year ago)

    15 Years

  31. Inga
    March 8, 2013 at 11:04 pm (1 year ago)

    15 Years

  32. Solange
    March 9, 2013 at 7:01 am (1 year ago)

    15 years

  33. abigail edkins
    March 9, 2013 at 3:55 pm (1 year ago)

    15 Years

  34. Joanne
    March 9, 2013 at 6:42 pm (1 year ago)

    15 years :)

  35. Joanne B
    March 9, 2013 at 9:16 pm (1 year ago)

    15 years xx

  36. Hayley BOlt
    March 9, 2013 at 11:43 pm (1 year ago)

    15 years

  37. michelle hall
    March 10, 2013 at 12:04 pm (1 year ago)

    15 years

  38. Belinda Hendry
    March 10, 2013 at 5:51 pm (1 year ago)

    15 years

  39. katie coup
    March 10, 2013 at 8:09 pm (1 year ago)

    15 years

  40. Catherine Reynolds
    March 10, 2013 at 9:34 pm (1 year ago)

    Answer: 15 Years
    :) thanks for these comp!

  41. Liz
    March 11, 2013 at 2:28 pm (1 year ago)

    15 years

  42. Carolin
    March 11, 2013 at 7:24 pm (1 year ago)

    It’s 15 years

    @caro_mad x

  43. Deborah Wheeler
    March 11, 2013 at 9:25 pm (1 year ago)

    15 years

  44. Victoria Cunniff
    March 12, 2013 at 2:32 pm (1 year ago)

    15 years

  45. Jenny
    March 13, 2013 at 9:45 am (1 year ago)

    Answer: 15 years

  46. Penny Russell
    March 13, 2013 at 1:03 pm (1 year ago)

    15 years

  47. Nicole
    March 13, 2013 at 3:35 pm (1 year ago)

    15 years

  48. Lisa Wilkinson
    March 13, 2013 at 4:16 pm (1 year ago)

    Answer – 15 years

  49. Amanda Wakefield
    March 13, 2013 at 8:29 pm (1 year ago)

    15 years

  50. Carrie Brimmell
    March 13, 2013 at 9:32 pm (1 year ago)

    Answer 15 years

    Looks like a great book!

  51. Danielle Graves
    March 13, 2013 at 9:52 pm (1 year ago)

    15 years.

  52. Kristian
    March 13, 2013 at 10:32 pm (1 year ago)

    Answer -15 years

  53. Karen R
    March 14, 2013 at 6:04 am (1 year ago)

    15 years

  54. Clare White
    March 14, 2013 at 1:23 pm (1 year ago)

    15 Years

  55. C Parkin
    March 14, 2013 at 3:28 pm (1 year ago)

    Answer 15 years

  56. kristy brown
    March 14, 2013 at 4:34 pm (1 year ago)

    15 years!

  57. Mickie Bull
    March 14, 2013 at 8:50 pm (1 year ago)

    15 years

  58. Antonia Rookley
    March 14, 2013 at 9:34 pm (1 year ago)

    15 years

  59. carolD
    March 15, 2013 at 7:04 am (1 year ago)

    15 years

  60. Chris Fliss
    March 15, 2013 at 7:30 am (1 year ago)

    15 years :-)

  61. Jeanette Davies
    March 15, 2013 at 10:57 am (1 year ago)

    15 years

  62. Emily Jane
    March 15, 2013 at 1:14 pm (1 year ago)

    15 Years

  63. David Jackson
    March 15, 2013 at 3:27 pm (1 year ago)

    Answer 15 Years

  64. Paul Witney
    March 15, 2013 at 10:09 pm (1 year ago)

    15 years

1Pingbacks & Trackbacks on Mum’s Like Us Book Review & Competition